“There are good days and there are bad days, and this is one of them.” –Lawrence Welk

Writing’s been a bit on the backburner the past few days. That really annoying pest called Life’s been getting in the way of it, in the form of explosions. Remember how I said that “trouble comes in threes” is the same to us as “trouble comes in thousands”? Yeah, well numbers 2 and 3 finally cropped up.

On the tail end (no pun intended) of Sam’s diarrh-ific afternoon, I came home yesterday to find that The Beast was leaking a strange green fluid into the driveway. Smelled like fish. Ring any bells so far? Turns out that The Beast’s radiator had cracked and leaked most of its antifreeze down over the right half of the engine and other internal organs. Yay!

Then last night, I get a call from my vet–Dr. Potter, who I adore–informing me that Nell’s bloodwork (in preparation for Thursday’s cardiologist appointment) came in. The results? Urine with a “quite a bit” of protein and urine and one plus bacteria, which most likely equals = infection, and a high globulin count of the sort that “usually means something chronic, not acute.” She thinks this could mean either some kind of tick-borne illness or kidney problems. Double yay!

Clayton’s doing a great job of looking at this glass as half-full–such a great job, actually, that I should probably be taking notes. He took the afternoon off to poke around in The Beast to verify the radiator problem and is excited at the prospect of buying the part and re-installing it himself. He has a very good track record of teaching himself slightly-more-than-basic mechanic work, so I’m really not too worried about him performing this sort of surgery. Honestly, the way I figure it, the part’s looking at costing us around $200. Even if he royally fubars the radiator surgery, there’s no way he’s going to do more than the $1,200-$1,500 worth of damage our ACTUAL mechanic would have to do to remove and replace that part. So I’m all like, “Whatever. What could it hurt?”

(I’m sure those will probably be my famous last words. Either that or, “I dunno, press the button and find out…” Either way, one of those lines is sure to end up on my gravestone someday.)

Meanwhile, I keep looking at Nell and going, “You’re broken. Did you know that? Last week the big dog’s butt was broken, this time it’s your inner clockworks.” And she looks at me gravely, with those droopy hound’s ears and sad eyes, and farts and then jumps to her feet in alarm b/c she doesn’t know what just made that squeaky noise behind her.

Poor thing.

So, ‘tis destined to be the week of Awesome Vet Visits Where We Learn Lots of Things About Our Dog’s Personal Health and Inner Workings. This week will be interesting, as Clayton and I try to juggle using one car while still making all the pet doctor visits. I’ve got two short stories I need to finish up, and keep telling myself that I need to get back on the story wagon.  But I also have a sneaking suspicion that trying to write anything other than a check amount will be met with failure, so we’ll see which one of us is right.  Tomorrow is Sam’s holistic vet appointment, where I will be discussing with Dr. Verna possible diet changes to balance Sam’s “energy.”

Yeah, I know. Don’t look at me like that. I thought the same thing when I first heard it, too. But we’ll see how it works out. I promise to reveal all the mysteries of the world about holistic diets and hot/cool/neutral dog energies to you on Wed. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under cars, disasters, dogs

2 responses to ““There are good days and there are bad days, and this is one of them.” –Lawrence Welk

  1. Leilani

    I wouldn’t even take my kid to a holistic appt to balance its energy. It needs its energy balanced – it can go outside and run for about an hour… Seriously. Dog people.

    I love you to death but seriously. dog. people.

    • Actually that’s the funny thing…I wouldn’t go to a holistic appointment for myself. But I’ll do it for my dogs or my horse… A very good, but strange fact you just made me realize.

Leave a Reply

