I love Tech Support…and by “love Tech Support” I mean “want to smack them in the face with a chair sometimes”

A while back I emailed the tech support of a certain software I’m trying to use. I said I was having problems linking to our Awesome Foundation Server. They answered back as such:

“You should be able to publish to Awesome.

This could be an issue with your permissions/Network.

I recommend to talk to your IT department and make sure all the permissions are set for you to do so.

Sincerely, Tech Support Guy”

So I go to our IT dept. and dutifully ask about the permissions. They inform me that Awesome Foundation Server isn’t the same thing as the “full” version of Awesome so check to make sure the software supports what we have (b/c sometimes software companies are tricky like that and will support paid-for versions of something but not the free version that contains limited capacity). I sent tech support a similar email to this:

“I know your software is set to work in this manner with Awesome, but we have Awesome Foundation Server (which, I understand, is diff. from the “full” version of Awesome). Is your software guaranteed to work with AFS, too?

Me”

This is what they tell me:

“You should be able to publish to Awesome.

This could be an issue with your permissions/Network.

I recommend to talk to your IT department and make sure all the permissions are set for you to do so.

Sincerely, Tech Support Guy”

Notice any similarities. Like, oh, I dunno…they’re the exact same answer? And I was like, not cool, tech support. Not cool at all.

I’m apparently to assume it was a yes, I guess. Given that my email to them contained their last message, I can only assume snark or impatience on the end of their tech support, since I obviously knew their earlier response and would identify their use of the same message. Unfortunately, their answer came at the end of a morning that had already ended my patience with work-related problems. So I responded back with this:

“Tech Support Guy,

The fact that I sent you any email at all assures that I can read—so your copy/paste of the earlier answer was both unhelpful and unappreciated. I assume your answer is that our Awesome Foundation Server is also supported, but I’d like written clarification.

Sincerely, Me”

Suffice to say there was a little more help and a lot less snark the next time they emailed me. I’m actually kinda surprised that worked.

2 Comments

Filed under pointless griping

2 responses to “I love Tech Support…and by “love Tech Support” I mean “want to smack them in the face with a chair sometimes”

  1. Tech Support Guy

    You should be able to publish to Awesome.

    This could be an issue with your permissions/Network.

    I recommend to talk to your IT department and make sure all the permissions are set for you to do so.

Leave a Reply

